Women’s sitting volleyball team named for first ever Paralympic appearance



The Canadian Paralympic Committee and Volleyball Canada made sitting volleyball history earlier today, announcing the 12 women that will represent Canada for the first time in this sport at the Paralympic Games in Rio.

Sitting volleyball debuted at the Paralympics in 1980 and expanded to include women’s teams in the 2004 Greece Games.

The Canadian team earned their inaugural Paralympic birth by winning bronze at the 2015 Parapan Am Games in Toronto, defeating Cuba 3-0 in the bronze medal match.

Head coach:  Nicole Ban (Fort McMurray, Alta.)
Chantal Beauchesne (St. Isidore, Ont.)
Angelena Dolezar (Edmonton)
*Danielle Ellis (Langley, B.C.)
*Leanne Muldrew (Winnipeg)
*Jennifer Oakes (Calgary)
Shacarra Orr (Jaffray, B.C.)
Heidi Peters (Neerlandia, Alta.)
Tessa Popoff (Surrey, B.C.)
Amber Skyrpan (Wandering River, Alta.)
Felicia Voss-Shafiq (Burnaby, B.C.)
Jolan Wong (Pembroke, Ont.)
Katelyn Wright (Edmonton)

* = First time on national team

”By qualifying for and competing at the Paralympic Games in women’s sitting volleyball, we have reached a new level of excellence,” said Ian Halliday, the High Performance Director of Sitting Volleyball for Volleyball Canada in a press release today. ”This team has showed tremendous fortitude and perseverance to reach a common goal.”

The sitting volleyball tournament begins on Friday, September 9th at the Riocentro Pavilion 6.

Photo Credit: Rob Hislop – Canadian Paralympic Committee

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s